Arts Concert Music Preview Singapore

Music Is: Singapore Symphony Orchestra back in concert hall for digital productions with Hans Graf and Kahchun Wong

unnamed (1)

September and October sees the SSO’s digital season, SSOPlayOn! continue with four concerts to be streamed online via SISTIC Live, with highlights including Debussy and Wagner conducted by the brilliant young conductor Kahchun Wong, and the first-ever marimba soloist, Julia Tan, to star in the President’s Young Performers Concert. In addition, tickets are now on sale for Mozart & Stravinsky: Music on the Air, with the SSO’s new Chief Conductor Hans Graf, which will be streamed on Saturday 29th August at 8pm on SISTIC Live.

From 12th September 8pm, SSO first violinist Zhang Si Jing curates VCHpresents Intimate Moments 乐享时光: Zhang Si Jing and Friends. This concert, supported by Lianhe Zaobao, is presented in Mandarin and gives audiences a rare chance to experience a more intimate and informal musical performance. The programme includes chamber works by J. S. Bach, Paganini, Handel, Dvořák and Kelly Tang. Tickets for this concert on SISTIC Live start at the special school-holiday price of just $5 and are on sale now.

From 26th September 8pm, the Singapore Symphony Orchestra will be back at the Esplanade for a digital concert with the brilliant young conductor Kahchun Wong. The concert opens with Debussy’s mesmerising Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune (Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun) before the orchestra performs Wagner’s chamber masterpiece, the Siegfried Idyll. The programme is brought to an end by Shostakovich’s Chamber Symphony (an orchestral arrangement of the composer’s String Quartet No.8, created by Rudolf Barshai). The concert, on sale now, will be streamed on SISTIC Live, with tickets available from just $10.

Percussion takes centrestage on 10th October when 23-year-old marimba player Julia Tan is the star of this year’s President’s Young Performers Concert, streamed on SISTIC Live at 8pm. An award-winning graduate of the Mannes School of Music, New York, and recipient of the Best Graduate Award, Nanyang Academy of Fine Arts, Singapore, Julia will play the Marimba Concerto by prominent French composer-percussionist Emmanuel Séjourné. The programme, conducted by Joshua Tan, also includes Barber’s Adagio for Strings and Suk’s Serenade in E-flat major.

SSOPlayOn!’s final concert in October, from 8pm on Saturday 24th October, celebrates the legacy of the great Baroque composer J. S. Bach. Darrell Ang conducts the composer’s Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 in G major, alongside Orchestral Suites Nos 1 & 3. This celebration of the Baroque will be available to watch online at SISTIC Live.

Get tickets and find out more about upcoming SSO concerts here


0 comments on “Music Is: Singapore Symphony Orchestra back in concert hall for digital productions with Hans Graf and Kahchun Wong

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: