Skip to content

By The Book: Anugerah Persuratan (Malay Literary Awards) 2020 opens calls for entries


The Malay Language Council, Singapore (MLCS) will hold its biennial Anugerah Persuratan (Malay Literary Award) in 2020. First organised in 1993, this is an ongoing effort to recognise outstanding local writers for their contributions to the Malay language literary writing and to encourage the publications of quality literary works.

In an effort to create a vibrant literary scene, a greater range of quality reading materials and content must be made accessible to the reading public. Thus, Anugerah Persuratan 2020 will be streamlined to focus on books by writers and publishers to ensure that literature continues to develop and can be enjoyed by larger reading community. Literary books will allow for the works to be accessible through the library and book-selling platforms. This also makes it accessible for purposes of research, academia, education at institutes of higher learning and internationally. As such, the award categories will also be streamlined to 6 prizes to focus on published books.

The Anugerah Persuratan (AP) Committee 2020 is chaired by Dr Azhar Ibrahim, Lecturer, Department of Malay Studies, National University of Singapore. Four awards will be conferred at AP2020: Hadiah Persuratan (Literary Awards for six categories), Anugerah Tun Seri Lanang (Tun Seri Lanang Award), Anumerta Tun Seri Lanang (Tun Seri Lanang Posthumous Award) and Anugerah Harapan (Promising Award).

Original Malay language literary works submitted must be written by Singaporeans or Singapore Permanent Residents. These works must have been published in 2017, 2018 or 2019, in Singapore or overseas complete with ISBN number. A separate panel of judges will be formed to evaluate all entries and to select recipients for the Tun Seri Lanang Award, Tun Seri Lanang Posthumous Award and Promising Award respectively. The AP Committee 2020 reserves the right to review, add or reject entries and/or nominations. Decision made by the judging panel is final.

Online submission of entries can be made by writers and publishers by Thursday, 12 November 2020, 6pm. Literary works must be published in 2017, 2018 or 2019. All nominations must be submitted by Thursday, 12th November 2020, 6pm. The online nomination form for Tun Seri Lanang Award, Tun Seri Lanang Posthumous Award and Promising Award can be found here.

Nominations and submissions are open from 17th September to 12th November 2020 via the forms online here and here

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: