Arts News Theatre

Preview: T:>works presents PerForm – Inaugural Digital Lecture by Shubigi Rao

Following their announcement of their 2021 season. T:>works is set to begin their PerForm series with the inaugural digital lecture by artist Shubigi Rao on 6th May 2021. The lecture will focus on three main areas of Shubigi’s practice – as a writer, an artist, and as an artist-curator for the 5th edition of the Kochi-Muziris Biennale 2021, and the overlaps and tensions between them.

Shubigi will discuss the connections between on-site artistic production and her work as artist-curator, as well as the ways in which artistic strategies inform curatorial research. Drawing from her curatorial experiences in a pandemic-affected world, she will also examine the position of artist-curator within a potentially fraught biennale-model, and the forms of knowledge generation that could potentially be sustained through such curatorial research and practice. Hosted by Dr. Ong Keng Sen, Artistic Director of T:>Works, this digital lecture
is free admission by registration.

PerForm is a fellowship platform, directed by T:>Works’ Artistic Director Ong Keng Sen, that cuts across silos, disciplines, and fields. Over the next three years, it promotes translocal knowledge production and contextualised research about situated practices, with collaborations between International and Singapore artists, scientists, curators, writers, activators and creative communities.

Artist and writer Shubigi Rao’s interests include archival systems, histories, lies and ecologies. Her works examine displacement of people, cultures, or knowledge bodies. Her current project on book destruction and knowledge, “Pulp: A Short Biography of the Banished Book” has garnered numerous awards from AIGA, APB Foundation, D&AD, and the Singapore Literature Prize. Shubigi has also been featured in various international exhibitions and is currently the Curator for the Kochi-Muziris Biennale 2021.

PerForm’s inaugural digital lecture by Shubigi Rao premieres on 6th May 2021 at 8pm (Singapore) / 4.30pm (Tehran) / 2pm (Berlin) / 11am (Cape Verde) / 8am (New York) Register here.

Find out more on T:>Works’ social media channels on Facebook, Twitter,
Instagram and YouTube

0 comments on “Preview: T:>works presents PerForm – Inaugural Digital Lecture by Shubigi Rao

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: