Books By The Book Interview literature Singapore

By The Book: 36 judges announced for Singapore Literature Prize 2022

A total of 36 judges have been appointed to serve on the judging panels for Singapore’s top literary award, the biennial Singapore Literature Prize (SLP). They consist of 12 local chief judges and 24 international judges, who include notable British poet George Szirtes; Chinese award-winning author 王安忆 (Wang Anyi); acclaimed Tamil poet  த.சுமதி (தமிழச்சி தங்கபாண்டியன்) T Sumathy and Asian American writer/academic Shirley Geok-lin Lim. They will serve alongside local chief judges such as Yong Shu Hoong; 谢裕民 Chia Joo Ming (Xie Yumin), Balli Kaur Jaswal and Mardiana Abu Bakar.

Most of the judges are judging SLP for the first time. They will serve on 12 separate panels, judging 12 different categories. The categories are spread across the three genres of Poetry, Fiction and Creative Nonfiction and four languages of Chinese, English, Malay and Tamil. 

The shortlisted works will be announced in mid-July 2022, and the winners will be unveiled at an awards ceremony in late August. Each winner will win a cash prize of S$3,000 and a special plaque. 

The popular SLP Readers’ Favourite category, introduced in 2020, will also continue this year. The public will be invited to vote for their favourite shortlisted book in Chinese, English, Malay and Tamil.  More than 90 writers have won the prestigious SLP, one of the few multilingual literary awards in the world. The winners and online awards ceremony of the last edition in 2020 can be found here

0 comments on “By The Book: 36 judges announced for Singapore Literature Prize 2022

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: