Skip to content

Edinburgh Fringe Festival 2019: Prestigious judging committee and exciting shortlist announced for inaugural Popcorn Group Writing Award

Screenshot 2019-07-29 at 8.45.09 PM

EDINBURGH – This year will see the inaugural Popcorn Group Writing Award in association with the Pleasance Theatre celebrate writing excellence at the Fringe. Platforming writers and artists that ignite and challenge the status quo, the award will be presented on 14th August at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe to the most fearless and topical piece of new writing.

All new writing works in Pleasance’s festival programme were eligible for consideration, and the shortlist has been selected by an incredible committee that includes Emmy Nominated actress Lena Headey, Michael Longhurst, Artistic Director of the Donmar Warehouse, Academy Award winning Gareth Ellis-Unwin, Popcorn Group and the Pleasance Theatre.

The shortlisted shows are: A Womb of One’s Own by Claire Rammelkamp which explores sisterhood, love, sexual freedom and self-acceptance whilst also aiming to shed light on the unnerving and difficult circumstances surrounding abortion; I’m a Phoenix, Bitch by Bryony Kimmings, a powerful, dark and joyful piece surrounding post-natal depression; and Drowning by Jennifer Ross, based on the true story of four Austrian nurses that were charged with murdering 49 patients in their beds in 1991. The winner of the Popcorn Group Writing Award will receive a cash prize of £2,500 to provide support to further develop their talent.

Charlotte Colbert and Jessica Malik of The Popcorn Group comment: “We are excited to have brought together this brilliant committee of trail-blazing artists to judge the first year of the Popcorn Writing Award. We are proud to be partnering with the Pleasance to champion bold and thought-provoking new material which positively and playfully contributes to public debate and addresses current affairs.”

Anthony Alderson, director Pleasance Theatre Trust comments: “The Pleasance is delighted to be working with The Popcorn Group and to be hosting the inaugural Popcorn Writing Award to celebrate the importance of new writing at the Fringe. The quality of writing on the Fringe has never been more powerful and awards such as this will help to provide some necessary attention and recognition for this group of hugely talented writers.”

Winners of the inaugural Popcorn Group Writing Award will be presented and announced on 14th August 2019. For more information, follow their social media on Facebook or Twitter, or website here

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: