Skip to content

Preview: SSO POPS – Video Games Classics

unnamed (11)

As fans of videogames, we can pretty much assure anyone and everyone that most soundtracks are works of art in themselves, each one a key part of the immersive experience gaming comes with. Now, experience them in their full glory this April as the Singapore Symphony Orchestra presents a special concert featuring Video Games Classics, conducted by Irish Queen of Games Music, Eímear Noone.

Noone’s musical credits include 26 film and game titles, including Blizzard’s Overwatch, Hearthstone, Diablo III and Zelda. In addition, expect to hear iconic tunes from World of Warcraft, Skyrim, Final Fantasy VIII, Resident Evil, Kingdom Hearts, Super Mario Brothers, alongside classics by composers such as Beethoven, Mozart, Debussy and Stravinsky. The journey launches with Copland’s monumental Fanfare for the Common Man, spanning Jeremy Soule’s stirring Dragonborn Theme from Skyrim and ends with the fateful “O Fortuna” chorus from Carmina Burana.

Eímear Noone herself contributes her fan-favourite composition from World of Warcraft, “Malach” (Hebrew for “Angel”), an emotional piece laced with Irish lyricism, dedicated to her son who died tragically just before birth. Joined by the augmented Singapore Symphony Youth Choir, Singaporean soprano Victoria Songwei Li and mezzo-soprano Jade Tan in this concert, get set for an adventure into the unforgettable world of video game music.

SSO POPS: Video Games Classics plays at the Esplanade Concert Hall on 5th April 2019. Tickets available from SISTIC

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: