Skip to content

Preview: The Singapore Symphony Orchestra Presents a Mozart Triptych With the Jussen Brothers, Akiko Suwanai and Haochen Zhang


Phenomenally talented Dutch piano duo, Lucas and Arthur Jussen, are taking the classical music world by storm. On 22nd and 23rd November, they’ll be joining the Singapore Symphony Orchestra to play Mozart’s famous Concerto No. 10 for two pianos, K. 365. Complementing the Mozart is Beethoven’s “Pastoral” Symphony (No. 6) and the Asian premiere of Enescu’s Pastorale-Fantaisie – prepared for performance by the evening’s conductor, Gabriel Bebeşelea.

The Jussen Brothers received their first piano lessons in their native town of Hilversum. It became clear quickly that they were great talents. As children, they were invited to perform for the Dutch Queen Beatrix. In 2005, the brothers studied in Portugal and Brazil for nearly a year at the invitation of Portuguese master pianist Maria João Pires. Despite their young age, Lucas and Arthur have worked with orchestras such as Mariinsky Orchestra, Academy of St Martin in the Fields, Dallas, Sydney and Shanghai Symphony Orchestras.

For their  next Mozart concerto comes courtesy of the highly regarded Japanese violinist Akiko Suwanai, who is not only one of the top violinists today, but also plays one of the finest violins in existence: the 1714 “Dolphin” Stradivarius previously owned by no less than the legend among violin legends, Jascha Heifetz. In a pair of concerts on 28th and 29th November she’ll be playing Mozart’s Violin Concerto No. 3 in a concert conducted by Mario Venzago. Alongside, the SSO will perform Mendelssohn’s Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage and Brahms’s Second Symphony.

Akiko Suwanai was the youngest-ever winner of the International Tchaikovsky Competition in 1990. Since then she has enjoyed a flourishing international career and appears regularly with celebrated conductors and top orchestras across the globe. Akiko Suwanai performs on the Stradivarius ‘Dolphin’ violin from 1714, which has been kindly loaned to her by the Nippon Music Foundation.

Rounding off this triple-bill on 5th December – the 228th anniversary of the composer’s death – will be a performance of one of the best-loved works by the composer – the Piano Concerto No. 24. The brilliant pianist Haochen Zhang is the soloist while Thomas Dausgaard joins us to conduct the programme. The evening also includes Bruckner’s monumental Symphony No. 4, a Wagnerian masterpiece which conjures images of castles touched by the dawn, knights on the hunt and the magic of the forest.

Since his gold medal win at the Thirteenth Van Cliburn International Piano Competition in 2009, when he became one of the youngest-ever winners of the competition, Haochen Zhang has captivated audiences in the United States, Europe, and Asia with a unique combination of deep musical sensitivity, fearless imagination and spectacular virtuosity. In 2017 Haochen received the prestigious Avery Fisher Career Grant, which recognizes the potential for a major career in music.

The Jussen Brothers Play Mozart on 22nd and 23rd November 2019 at the Victoria Concert Hall. Tickets available from SISTIC
Akiko Suwanai Plays Mozart on 28th and 29th November 2019 at the Victoria Concert Hall. Tickets available from SISTIC
Haochen Zhang Plays Mozart on 5th December 2019 at the Esplanade Concert Hall. Tickets available from SISTIC


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: